Cricket News

Angelo Mathews Challenges Fourth Umpire’s Decision With Video Evidence, Says ‘I Still Had 5 More Seconds’

Sri Lankan all-rounder Angelo Mathews questioned his controversial timed-out dismissal against Bangladesh in the ICC Men’s World Cup 2023. Mathews shared evidence to prove the fourth umpire was wrong, stating that he still had time even after the helmet issue.

Mathews faced a delay of over two minutes in taking his first ball due to helmet issues. Bangladesh skipper Shakib appealed for a timed-out dismissal, which the on-field umpire upheld. Batters are required to be ready to complete their preparations within two minutes.

Fourth Umpire Is Wrong Here – Angelo Mathews

In response to an ICC post, Angelo Mathews defended his case, saying that the fourth umpire was wrong. Matthews shared two images with timings, highlighting the moment of the catch and when the helmet strap came off to support his argument.

“4th umpire is wrong here! Video evidence shows I still had 5 more seconds even after the helmet gave away! Can the 4th umpire rectify this please? I mean safety is paramount as I just couldn’t face the bowler without a helmet,” Mathews posted on X (formerly Twitter).

“Proof! From the time catch was taken and the time helmet strap coming off,” he wrote in another response.

We Have Video Evidence – Angelo Mathews

In the post-match press conference, Mathews stated that he had evidence to show that he still had five seconds left after the catch was taken, despite his helmet strap breaking. He emphasized the importance of player safety, suggesting it was an equipment malfunction.

“Within two minutes I was there. We have video evidence. We will put out a statement later on. We have video evidence, footage, and everything was looked at. I’m not just coming and saying things here. I’m talking with proof,” Mathews said.

“So, we have the video evidence where from the time the catch was taken, and then from the time I walked into the crease, I still had five seconds after breaking my helmet. So, we talk about safety of the players – you guys tell me if It’s right for me to take my guard without my helmet on? It’s just pure common sense,” he added.

“That’s why I think the umpires also had a bigger job at the time, because they could have at least gone back and checked. So, we talk about player safety. And a wicketkeeper for the spinner is not – they don’t let him keep without his helmet. So how can I take my guard without my helmet? It’s a complete equipment malfunction.”

Also read: I Don’t Know If It’s Right Or Wrong: Shakib Al Hasan On Angelo Mathews’ Controversial Dismissal


#Angelo #Mathews #Challenges #Fourth #Umpires #Decision #Video #Evidence #Seconds

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button