Cricket News

Shane Watson Compares Current Team India To Invincible Team Australia Of 2003 And 2007

Former Australian cricketer Shane Watson has compared the current Indian cricket team to the dominant Australian squads of the 2003 and 2007 World Cups. Shane Watson stated that the Rohit Sharma-led team has a similar aura to the invincible Australian sides.

The Men in Blue have been dominant in the ICC World Cup 2023 so far, only undefeated in the tournament. The home team has won all six matches they’ve played. They are just one win away from qualifying for the semifinals of the ongoing marquee tournament.

This Team Has Absolute No Weakness – Shane Watson

In a recent conversation with The Times of India, Shane Watson commended the Indian team, highlighting the balance and players’ good form. Watson emphasized that India has a strong chance of remaining undefeated in the tournament.

“They exude a similar aura. This team has absolutely no weakness, as was the case with the invincible Australian teams of the 2003 and 2007 World Cups. Just like that Aussie side, this team has quality world-class match-winners all around the team,” Shane Watson told TOI.

“Once I saw the balance of the Indian team and the form of the players after two games, this thought occurred on me. They have just been so incredibly dominant and have a great chance of going through the tournament undefeated. A team has to be at their brilliant best to challenge this Indian side,” he added.

Shane Watson was part of Australia’s ODI World Cup-winning campaigns in 2003, 2007, and 2015. The Australian team won the tournament in the 2003 and 2007 editions without losing a single match. Australia is the only team to win three back-to-back tournaments.

India’s Remaining Matches Schedule For ICC World Cup 2023

November 2– India vs Sri Lanka in Mumbai, 2.00 pm IST

November 5 – India vs South Africa in Kolkata, 2.00 pm IST

November 12 – India vs Netherlands in Bengaluru 2.00 pm IST

India’s World Cup Squad: Rohit Sharma (c), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Ishan Kishan (wk), Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (wk), Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Kuldeep Yadav, Shardul Thakur, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, Mohammed Shami.

Also read: IND vs SL: Shane Watson Lauds Virat Kohli’s Supernatural Run-Chasing Record While Comparing With Sachin Tendulkar

#Shane #Watson #Compares #Current #Team #India #Invincible #Team #Australia

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button