Cricket News

Pakistan announces Women squad for the upcoming white-ball tour of Bangladesh

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has officially revealed the Women’s squad that will represent the nation in the upcoming white-ball tour of Bangladesh. This highly-anticipated series will feature a total of six matches, including three One Day Internationals (ODIs) as part of the ICC Women’s Championship 2022-25.

Nida Dar to lead the charge

Nida Dar, an experienced all-rounder, will continue to lead the national team during this tour. She will be entrusted with the task of guiding a squad that features several familiar faces, including Bismah Maroof, Diana Baig, and Muneeba Ali.

Iram Javed returns after a year

One of the notable developments in the squad announcement is the return of Iram Javed to the national side after a hiatus of one year. Her last appearance for Pakistan was in the Commonwealth Games in Birmingham in 2022, and her comeback is expected to bolster the team’s batting lineup.

Notable exclusions

The selectors have made some tough decisions regarding squad composition. Shawaal Zulfiqar and Syeda Aroob Shah, who were part of the squad that faced South Africa last month in the white-ball series in Karachi, have been excluded from the Bangladesh tour. Additionally, Fatima Sana, who suffered an injury during the second ODI against the Proteas, is still in the process of recovery and will not be part of the team.

Also READ: Sydney Thunder sign Sri Lanka skipper Chamari Athapaththu for Women’s Big Bash League 2023

Upcoming tour details

While the full itinerary of the white-ball series will be announced by the Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) in due course, it has been confirmed that the Pakistan Women’s team will depart for Bangladesh on October 20. This tour holds significant importance, as the ODIs are part of the ICC Women’s Championship, which plays a crucial role in determining qualification for the 2025 Women’s Cricket World Cup.

Pakistan squad for Bangladesh tour: Nida Dar (captain), Aliya Riaz, Bismah Maroof, Diana Baig, Ghulam Fatima, Iram Javed, Muneeba Ali (wk), Najiha Alvi (wk), Nashra Sundhu, Natalia Parvaiz, Sadaf Shamas, Sadia Iqbal, Sidra Amin, Umm-e-Hani and Waheeda Akhtar

Non-travelling reserves: Amber Kainat, Omaima Sohail and Sidra Nawaz (wk)

Also READ: Dharamshala’s beauty leaves Danielle Wyatt in awe; England women’s cricket star shares her reaction on social media

This article was first published at, a Cricket Times company.

#Pakistan #announces #Women #squad #upcoming #whiteball #tour #Bangladesh

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button