Cricket News

ICC World Cup 2023 Team List | ICC World Cup Qualifier Team

ICC World Cup 2023 Team List. The much-awaited ICC World Cup 2023 or ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 is definitely the biggest cricket event of the year. The mega event is scheduled to be hosted by India in October-November. It will be a historic moment as India will be hosting the competition alone for the first time. In the past, India co-hosted the World Cup thrice in 1987, 1996, and 2011.

ICC World Cup History:

To date, 12 editions of the ICC World Cup have been played. The first edition was played in 1975 in England with 8 teams featuring in the event. West Indies beat Australia in the final to win the first-ever World Cup. The second and third edition of the tournament was held in England too with West Indies and India winning those editions respectively.

The World Cup moved out of England for the first time in 1987 with India and Pakistan co-hosting it. The tournament witnessed 50-over matches in ODIs for the first time. Before that, one ODI innings used to have 60 overs. In 1992, Australia and New Zealand co-hosted the tournament while India, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka were the co-hosts for the next edition in 1996.

Three years later, the tournament returned to Europe as England, Scotland, Ireland, Wales, and the Netherlands co-hosted it. Four years later, it was held in Africa for the first time with South Africa, Zimbabwe, and Kenya co-hosting it. West Indies hosted the ICC World Cup for the first time in 2007 before the tournament returned to Asia with India, Bangladesh, and Sri Lanka co-hosting it.

In 2019, Australia and New Zealand were the co-hosts before the competition made a return to the English shores in 2019. Australia are the most successful side in the history of the World Cup, having won it 5 times. West Indies and India are second on the list with 2 titles each followed by Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and England who have won the World Cup once

ICC World Cup 2023 Team List:

A total of 10 teams will be participating in the upcoming ICC World Cup 2023. The format of the edition will be similar to the 2019 edition. There will be a round-robin stage followed by the semifinals and final. In the round-robin format, all 10 teams will compete against each other once.

Teams will get two points for a win while a game ending with no result will earn each participating team one point. After the end of the round-robin stage, the top 4 teams will be making it to the semifinal.

The main pathway to qualify for the ICC World Cup 2023 was the Super League 2020-23. The top seven sides in the competition along with hosts India have sealed an automatic qualification for the marquee event.

The five remaining teams on the Super League table, the top three teams from ICC Cricket World Cup League 2, and the top two teams from the 2023 World Cup Qualifier Playoff will be contesting in the 2023 World Cup Qualifier to decide the final two spots for the main event. The Qualifier is scheduled to take place in Zimbabwe in June and July.

So far, India, England, New Zealand, Australia, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Afghanistan, and South Africa have booked their spots for the ICC World Cup. On the other hand, Ireland, Netherlands, Sri Lanka, West Indies, Zimbabwe, Nepal, Oman, Scotland, United Arab Emirates, and the United States will be taking part in the Qualifiers for the final two spots,

ICC World Cup 2023 Team List:

New Zealand
South Africa

ICC World Cup 2023 Qualifiers Team List:

Sri Lanka
West Indies
United Arab Emirates
United States

#ICC #World #Cup #Team #List #ICC #World #Cup #Qualifier #Team

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button